Software Run Amok

Discussion in 'Interesting/Unrelated' started by bphlpt, Oct 14, 2019.

1. bphlpt

bphlpt A lowly staff member Staff Member

I've mentioned before, as have most of you, that I've found the software bloat to have gotten out of control, MS OS as a prime example, but I ran into the below two articles through a post at MSFN that completely explain my frustration, and I thought you would all appreciate them as well.

After reading them, you might agree with me that maybe Johnrw's approach to go back to DOS and Win 3.1 might not be such a bad idea. :)

===============================================================================

https://tonsky.me/blog/disenchantment/

Software disenchantment

[​IMG]
    Translations: French Italian Korean Portuguese Russian Spanish

I’ve been programming for 15 years now. Recently, our industry’s lack of care for efficiency, simplicity, and excellence started really getting to me, to the point of me getting depressed by my own career and IT in general.

Modern cars work, let’s say for the sake of argument, at 98% of what’s physically possible with the current engine design. Modern buildings use just enough material to fulfill their function and stay safe under the given conditions. All planes converged to the optimal size/form/load and basically look the same.

Only in software, it’s fine if a program runs at 1% or even 0.01% of the possible performance. Everybody just seems to be ok with it. People are often even proud about how inefficient it is, as in “why should we worry, computers are fast enough”:

@tveastman: I have a Python program I run every day, it takes 1.5 seconds. I spent six hours re-writing it in rust, now it takes 0.06 seconds. That efficiency improvement means I’ll make my time back in 41 years, 24 days :)